Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Somerset Hills

Open minds, loving hearts, helping hands

UUCSH Governance & Management

The UUCSH is a self-governing congregation that is part of the Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA).  The UUA acts as connective tissue among the 1,041 congregations in the United States, Canada, and overseas.  It provides services that individual congregations cannot provide for themselves.

Congregations are self-governing, as spelled out in the fifth UU principle, which calls for “the use of the democratic process within our congregations.”

Board of Trustees
UUCSH is governed by our elected Board of Trustees. The congregation’s membership comes together at the Annual Meeting, held annually in May, to elect our leadership and review our progress. The board develops & upholds structures and policy, oversees the financial health of UUCSH, and employs appropriate staff and volunteers to drive the Mission of UUCSH.

The Executive Committee of UUCSH consists of the President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary who are elected on a staggered basis. The UUCSH Bylaws fully describe the terms and duties of each officer as well as the Trustees.  Board members are available each Sunday, with identification on their name tag, to answer any questions you may have about the governance of UUCSH.

The Board of Trustees meets at 7 pm on the second Wednesday of each month in Fellowship Hall. Meetings are open to all members unless the Board is dealing with a confidential personnel issue.

All are welcome and encouraged to get more involved through committee work.  If interested in serving in an elected leadership position, see a member of the Nominating Committee or any Board member.  If you are a UUCSH member, this is your congregation. Your vote and active involvement matter.  Here is the slate for the 2017-2018 congregational year:

Executive Board
Jackie White, President
Scott Kitchen, Vice President
Frank Hershkowitz, Treasurer
Laura Meerovich, Secretary

Board of Trustees
Karina LaMalfa
Linda Milkes
Louis Sapirman
Youth Representative – Evan Sapirman

Committee on Shared Ministry (CoSM)
Jennie Belmonte
Nancy Brungard
Ann Colodner
Rob Edgar

Nominating Committee (NOM)
Adele Barree
Adam Dickinson
John Ludwigsen

You can read more about the Executive Board in the Officers’ bios.

Past Presidents
Jennifer Kitchen (2015-2017)
Nadine Sapirman (2013-2015)
Ann Perry (2010-2013)
Brad Pendergraph (2009-2010)
Jim Phillips (2007-2009)
Susan Stanbury (2006-2007)
Nancy Brungard (2003-2005)
Pat Morey (2002-2003)
Bruce Lawrence (2001-2002)
Joyce Wackenhut (2000-2001)
Jim McLaine (1999-2000)
Ellen Thomas (1997-1999)