Executive Board

Scott Kitchen, President

Scott joined UUCSH in 1997. He has served previously in elected leadership as a member of the Leadership Development Committee, Secretary of the Board of Trustees, and as Chair of the Ministerial Search Committee that brought Rev. Jennifer Kelleher to UUCSH. He has taught RE, co-led an adult RE class, chaired the Committee On Shared Ministry, served on and chaired the Worship Associates, and currently sings in the choir. He holds a Bachelor of Science Degree from MIT in Materials Science and Engineering. He currently works as a mechanical engineer for the US government. In his spare time, Scott plays Scrabble competitively, roots for the Mets and Giants, and listens to a wide variety of podcasts. You can reach Scott at president@uucsh.org.

Ann Perry, Vice President

Ann is a lifelong UU. She and her husband, Mark, joined UUCSH when they moved to New Jersey from West Virginia. Ann raised her two children in the church, and her daughter is an active member. Ann has served the congregation in many ways over the years, including serving as president, membership co-chairman, and Better Than Ever coordinator. Ann retired several years ago from Dow Chemical as Quality Director, and today is active in the Giving Network, Citizens’ Climate Lobby, and in her Sunset Lake community. Ann and Mark enjoy traveling the world. With the birth of their grandchild, they look forward to helping raise a fourth generation of UUs. You can reach Ann at vicepresident@uucsh.org.

Wynn Schulz, Finance Committee Chair

Wynn joined UUCSH in 2004, and has previously served in elected leadership as Treasurer and as a Board of Trustees member. He’s active in many congregational ministries, including Worship Associates, Choir, and the Green Sanctuary Committee, where he helped spearhead the congregation’s original accreditation as a Green Sanctuary.  He holds a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Wisconsin, and works as product manager in the information technology sector. In his spare time, he enjoys bike riding, playing guitar, and rooting for the Chicago Cubs and the Green Bay Packers.

Frank Hershkowitz, Treasurer

Frank was raised in West Caldwell, NJ, where much of his family still resides. He has a BS and a PhD in chemical engineering, from Cornell and Berkeley, respectively. He returned from Berkeley to New Jersey in 1980 so he could meet his wife Missy Staples, and perhaps also for a job. Frank worked for 35 years at ExxonMobil’s Corporate Strategic Research, where he specialized in creating new technology options that have higher efficiency and lower carbon footprint.    

Since retiring in 2015, Frank has done some consulting, has taken on the treasury work at UUCSH and Leadership Leaves (a NJ UU organization), and has become much more deliberate with his exercise and travel regimens.  He and Missy (also retired) enjoy hiking, biking, drinking interesting beers, and eating ice cream. They have two sons: Aaron, who lives with them and works in Princeton, and David, who lives and works in Long Beach, CA. You can reach Frank at treasurer@uucsh.org.

Adam Dickinson, Secretary

You can reach Adam at secretary@uucsh.org.

Board of Trustees

  • Tammy Ludwigsen
  • Amy O’Connell
  • Art Turnbull
  • Youth Representative – Jasean Sapirman

Committee on Shared Ministry

  • Nicole Dickinson
  • Joe Jiuliano
  • Art Turnbull
  • Jackie White

Nominating Committee

  • Ed Horch
  • David Milkes
  • Valerie Pierce

Groups and Committees

Adult Choirchoir@uucsh.org

Better Than EverBTE@uucsh.org
A group of senior adults who enjoy going on local adventures together.

Building and Groundsbuilding@uucsh.org

Caring caring@uucsh.org
This committee supports the congregation in times of need and in times of joy. Support ranges from sending kind notes to arranging for practical help such as home-cooked meals and transportation to medical appointments, and addressing other needs.

Circle SuppersCircleSuppers@uucsh.org
Sign up for community and fun at the welcome desk. All are welcome. Bring a dish to share and join in the conversation.

Community PlateCommunityPlate@uucsh.org
During every worship service and special event, we pass baskets for a free-will donation. While our building is closed, we are especially grateful for checks and electronic donations, and we currently donate 100% of these collections to social organizations both in our community and in the larger world.

Finance treasurer@uucsh.org

FLASH FLASH@uucsh.org
Future Leaders at Somerset Hills (youth group).

Giving Networkgivingnetwork@gmail.com
An all-volunteer outreach program of this congregation, which makes more than a thousand annual deliveries of food, furniture, and household goods to families in need across Somerset County.

Green SanctuaryGreenSanctuary@uucsh.org
This team works to minimize our congregation’s impact on our planet while promoting at-home Earth-friendly practices.

Membership membership@uucsh.org

Men’s Groupmensgroup@uucsh.org

Newsletter uucsh@uucsh.org

Order of Worshipuucsh@uucsh.org

Public Relationsdavetoon@optonline.net

Religious ExplorationDRE@uucsh.org
This includes Coming of Age, Neighboring Faiths, Our Whole Lives (OWL) Sexuality Education, and Campus Ministry.

Service Auctionauction@uucsh.org
Our largest fundraiser, typically held in the fall.

Social Actionjustice@uucsh.org

Sound System – Ed Horch, ed@horch.org

Stewardshipstewardship@uucsh.org
Every pledge is vitally important. All that we do at UUCSH depends on the financial support of our members and friends through pledges made during the annual Stewardship campaign.

Ushers ushers@uucsh.org

Websiteuucsh@uucsh.org

Worship AssociatesWorshipAssociates@uucsh.org
Help to lead Sunday morning services, as well as to assist the worship lead with key elements of the service.

Still not sure with whom you should speak? Contact our Board President at president@uucsh.org.